Deseret News

August 2, 2010 — Former Utah Gov. Michael O. Leavitt, Gary L. Crocker and Dale H. Ballard will be inducted into the Utah Technology Council Hall of Fame, the organization announced Thursday.

The council, a professional association, will honor these “legends” of Utah’s technology industry Oct. 29 at the Grand America Hotel.

“These influential leaders have accomplished extraordinary things, not only in Utah, but also worldwide,” said Richard R. Nelson, UTC founder and chief executive officer. “We invite the community to join us as we honor their professional and personal accomplishments and celebrate Utah’s spectacular technology industry.”

Crocker is president of Crocker Ventures, a privately held life science investment firm funding differentiated technologies in the areas of biotechnology and medical devices.

Leavitt, a three-term Utah governor, is the founder and chairman of Leavitt Partners, where he advises clients in the health care and food safety sectors. He also served in former President George W. Bush’s Cabinet.

Ballard, a secretary to General George S. Patton, co-founded Deseret Pharmaceutical Co. with James Sorenson and Victor Cartwright. The company established medical manufacturing in Utah, according to the council release. Ballard will be inducted posthumously.

— Rebecca Palmer